As the nation has voted to elect its representatives on February 8, we are seeing some major upsets and major wins, with more still to come despite the passage of nearly 24 hours.

Despite the suspension of mobile phone and internet services, a large number of people across the country exercised their right to vote to elect their representatives for national and provincial assemblies — on 855 constituencies — in the world’s fifth-biggest democracy.

The 2024 elections surpassed the previous ones in 2018 in various aspects, including a record budget allocation of Rs48 billion, a substantial increase in the number of voters exceeding 50% of the total population, an unprecedented ratio of independent candidates, a total of nearly 18,000 candidates, and a substantial amount of paper required for printing 260 million ballots.

As people cast their votes, we saw prime minister hopefuls of two big parties — Nawaz Sharif and Bilawal Bhutto-Zardari — emerge victorious. However, the results are still coming in and it isn’t clear when the complete results will be compiled.

NA 6 Lower Dir 1

Candidates Parties Votes
Muhammad Bashir Khan (winner) PTI-backed independent 76,259
Siraj ul Haq Jamaat-e-Islami 52,545

NA 10 Buner

Candidates Parties Votes
Gohar Ali Khan (winner) PTI-backed independent 110,023
Abdur Rauf Awami National Party 30,302

NA-15 Mansehra-cum-torghar

Candidates Parties Votes
Shahzada Muhammad Gushtasap Khan(winner) PTI-backed independent 105,249
Nawaz Sharif PML-N 80,382

NA-19 Swabi 1

Candidates Parties Votes
Asad Qaiser (winner) PTI-backed independent  115,635
Maulana Fazal Ali JUI-F 45,567

NA-22 Mardan 2

Candidates Parties Votes
Muhammad Atif (winner) PTI-backed independent   114,748
Ameer Haider Azam Khan Hoti ANP 66,159

NA-23 Mardan 3

Candidates Parties Votes
Ali Muhammad Khan (winner) PTI-backed independent    102,175
Ahmad Khan Bahadur ANP 23,917

NA-24 Charsadda 1

Candidates Parties Votes
Anwar Taj (winner) PTI-backed independent     89,801
Gohar Ali JUI-F 48,545

NA-25 Charsadda 2

Candidates Parties Votes
Fazal Muhammad Khan(Winner) PTI-backed independent      100,713
Aimal Wali Khan ANP 67,876

More to follow…

Source link