NA 123 election updates: Stay tuned for live results amid battle between PML-N’s Shehbaz Sharif and PTI’s Afzaal Azeem Pahat

Shehbaz Sharif (left) and Afzaal Azeem Pahat. — Reuters/Geo Election Cell
Shehbaz Sharif (left) and Afzaal Azeem Pahat. — Reuters/Geo Election Cell

Punjab has emerged as the country’s political and electoral cauldron in the upcoming Pakistan general elections. The province, especially its capital Lahore is the home ground of various political bigwigs with the NA-123 Lahore-VII seat being one such constituency.


Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz (PML-N) President Shehbaz Sharif, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf-backed (PTI) Afzaal Azeem Pahat, Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Muhammad Zia Ul Haq, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl’s (JUI-F) Haider Ali, Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan’s (TLP) Amjad Naeem, Jamaat-e-Islami’s (JI) Liaqat Baloch and others are contesting from the said constituency.

Click here for live results.


The NA-123 Lahore-VII — formerly NA-132 Lahore-X — comprises Lahore Cantonment Tehsil’s Charge No 3 and 4, along with Model Town Tehsil’s Charge No 1 and 38, Circle No 1, 2 and 6 of Charge No 3, Charge No 2 of Model Town Tehsil excluding Circle No 1 and 2, Circle no 7, 8 and 9 of Charge No 11 of Walton Cantonment, Circle No 1, 4, 7 and 8 of Charge No 5 of Raiwin Tehsil.


During the 2018 polls, PML-N’s Shehbaz Sharif won the seat by securing 95,834 votes with PTI’s Mansha Sindhu in second place with 52,213 votes.

The constituency’s population stands at 911,608 with 338,780 registered voters — of which 187,830 are male, and 150,950 are female voters.

Source link