NA 246 election updates: Stay tuned for live results amid battle between MQM-P’s Amin Ul Haq and JI’s Hafiz Naeem Ur Rehman

Syed Amin Ul Haq (left) and Hafiz Naeem Ur Rehman. — X
Syed Amin Ul Haq (left) and Hafiz Naeem Ur Rehman. — X

With more than 128 million voters exercising their fundamental right to elect their representatives in Pakistan’s general elections on February 8, the metropolitan cities are expected to witness key political showdowns with Karachi’s NA-246 being one such constituency.


Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan’s (MQM-P) Syed Amin Ul Haq, Jamiat Ulema-e-Islam-Fazl (JUI-F) Hafiz Naeem Ur Rehman, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf-backed (PTI) Malik Muhammad Arif Awan, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Syed Muhammad Saleem Ashrafi, Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Waseem Akhter, Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan’s (TLP) Muhammad Ali, Awami National Party’s (ANP) Dost Muhammad and others are competing for the said seat.

Click here for live results.


The NA-246 Karachi West-III constituency — formerly — NA-249, NA-251 and NA-252 — comprises Mominabad Sub-Division excluding Charge No 7, 22, 27 and 28 of the city’s District Central.


During the 2018 elections, the constituency comprised NA-249 Karachi West-II, NA-251 Karachi West-IV and NA-252 Karachi West-V constituencies and saw PTI’s Faisal Vawda, MQM-P’s Amin Ul Haq and PTI’s Aftab Jahangir winning from the said seats, respectively.

The constituency’s total population stands at 877,858 with 423,861 registered voters — of which 241,259 are male and 182,602 are female voters. 

Source link