NA 241 election updates: Stay tuned for live results amid battle between MQM-P’s Farooq Sattar and PTI-backed Khurram Sher Zaman

Farooq Sattar (left) and Khurram Sher Zaman. — AFP/INP
Farooq Sattar (left) and Khurram Sher Zaman. — AFP/INP

Pakistan’s general elections are set to take place on February 8 with political pundits keeping a close eye on urban constituencies such as Karachi’s NA-241 which is expected to emerge an electoral battleground for various parties.


Muttahida Qaumi Movement-Pakistan’s (MQM-P) Dr Farooq Sattar, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf-backed (PTI) Khurram Sher Zaman, Pakistan Peoples Party’s (PPP) Dr Mirza Ikhtiar Baig, Jamaat-e-Islami’s (JI) Naveed Ali Baig, Tehreek-e-Labbaik Pakistan’s (TLP) Muhammad Waseem, Pakistan Muslim League-Nawaz’s (PML-N) Rozina, Istehkam-e-Pakistan Party’s (IPP) Jairam Das, Grand Democratic Alliance’s (GDA) Shaheena, Awami National Party’s (ANP) Owais Khan and others are contesting from the said constituency.

Click here for live results.


The Na-241 Karachi South-III — formerly NA-247 Karachi South-III — comprises the Civil Line Sub-Division excluding cantonment areas, Karachi Cantonment,  Clifton Cantonment,  Saddar Sub-Division excluding Cantonment areas and Aram Bagh Sub-Division excluding Charge no 1 and 2 of District South.


Previously in the 2018 elections, PTI’s Dr Arif Alvi secured victory by 91,020 votes with TLP’s Syed Zaman Ali Jaffery in second place with 24,680 votes.

The constituency’s population stands at 761,882 with 462,512 registered voters — of which 243,868 are male and 218,644 are female voters.

Source link